API comparison

LassoCut guide: best background removal APIs in 2026

There is no single best API: the right one depends on your volume, whether you already have code written for the remove.bg API, the tools you work in and whether you want a subscription. This guide compares published prices and features, with a link to each source.

It is written by LassoCut, which is one of the APIs listed. We have not run a quality benchmark of the other APIs, so this page makes no claim about the quality of their cut-outs. Test each candidate on a sample of your own images.

Checked on 27 September 2026. Prices and features change often: verify them on each provider's own page before you buy.

What we compare

  • Price per image at the same volume: 1,000, 10,000 and 100,000 full-size images.
  • Compatibility with the remove.bg API: whether existing requests keep working, which matters after the self-service remove.bg API stops on 1 December 2026 (remove.bg FAQ).
  • Plugins and integrations: whether the same account works in design tools and automation platforms.
  • Subscription or not: a monthly plan, a one-time pack, or pay per use.

Not a developer? You can try LassoCut on one image on the home page, with no account, or process a whole folder with the batch tool. Web tools are compared in the remove.bg alternatives guide.

Published prices

APIModelPublished priceFree allowance
LassoCutOne-time credit packs100 credits for $9 ($0.09 per image) to 100,000 for $1,500 ($0.015 per image); pricing50 previews a month (up to 0.25 megapixel)
Leonardo.AiPer image$0.1047 per image; migration guideNot in our notes
PhotoroomMonthly subscriptionBasic $20 a month for 1,000 images ($0.02 per image); Plus $100 a month, which adds staging and editing; Enterprise above 200,000 images a year; photoroom.comFree trial on both tiers, per its page
PoofMonthly subscription$9 for 2,000, $29 for 10,000, $99 for 50,000, $299 for 200,000 images a month; poof.bg100 images a month
FAPIhubAs stated by FAPIhubStates $15.00 for 7,000 images (about $0.0021 per image); the same article also prints $0.00114 per image; its comparison, 1 March 2026States 100 free full-resolution requests a month
Pixian.aiCredit packs, no subscriptionPrice scales with image size; shown in local currency: see their pricing pageFree to integrate and test; paid for production
Models hosted on falPay per useIdeogram Remove Background $0.01, Bria RMBG 2.0 $0.018, Pixelcut $0.016, Rembg Enhance $0.006 per image; BiRefNet v2 $0.0008 per compute-second; fal, 5 July 2026Not in our notes
PicWishCredits (subscription or pay as you go)0.5 credit per image; see their pricing page for the dollar priceNot in our notes

Also worth a look, pricing not checked by us: Adobe Firefly Services and Cloudinary. To run a model on your own machine, there is Rembg (listed on AlternativeTo).

Price per image at the same volume

What one full-size image costs if you process exactly this many. LassoCut: the pack of that size. Photoroom and Poof: the smallest monthly plan that covers the volume, divided by the number of images. Leonardo.Ai and Bria on fal: their flat per-image price. FAPIhub: not stated per volume (its figures are in the table above).

ImagesLassoCutLeonardo.AiPhotoroomPoofFAPIhub (stated)Bria RMBG 2.0 on fal
1,000 $0.039 $0.1047 $0.02 $0.009 Not stated per volume $0.018
10,000 $0.0249 $0.1047 Not in our notes $0.0029 Not stated per volume $0.018
100,000 $0.015 $0.1047 Enterprise quote $0.00299 Not stated per volume $0.018

Poof: $9 for 1,000 images on its 2,000-image plan, $29 for 10,000, and $299 for 100,000 on its 200,000-image plan. A subscription is billed every month; a LassoCut pack is paid once and its credits do not expire while the account is open.

On price alone, LassoCut is not the cheapest. Poof publishes lower prices per image at every volume in this table, and FAPIhub states a lower price per image, and Photoroom's Basic plan is lower at 1,000 images. Bria RMBG 2.0 on fal costs less per image than LassoCut at 1,000 and 10,000 images, and more at 100,000. LassoCut costs less per image than Leonardo.Ai at every volume in this table.

Existing code written for the remove.bg API

If you call the remove.bg API today, the self-service API stops accepting requests from 1 December 2026 (remove.bg FAQ). Here is what each provider says about keeping that code. We have only tested LassoCut.

APIWhat changes in your codeSource
LassoCutThe base URL and the key. Same path POST /v1.0/removebg, same X-Api-Key header, same parameters and response formats, including raw image bytes and format=zip.Compatibility table
PhotoroomClaims the same argument names (such as image_file, crop, bg_color, format, size), so you change the endpoint URL and the key.Photoroom
PoofSays you switch the API domain to its own.Poof
Leonardo.AiA rewrite: a different endpoint, a Bearer token, JSON-only requests, JSON-only responses; no multipart upload, no format=zip, no format=auto.Leonardo's guide
Pixian.aiIts pricing page does not say.Pixian.ai
Others aboveNot in our notes; check their documentation.

Which one for which need

  • Lowest cost at high volume, and you can change your code: Poof and models hosted on fal publish, and FAPIhub states, lower prices per image than LassoCut.
  • Existing remove.bg API code you do not want to rewrite: LassoCut, where you change the base URL and the key. Photoroom says you change the endpoint URL and the key; Poof says you switch the API domain.
  • No subscription: LassoCut and Pixian.ai sell credit packs; fal charges per use.
  • The same account in design tools and automations: LassoCut has plugins and integrations for Photoshop, Figma, WordPress and WooCommerce, GIMP 3, Zapier, Make, n8n and a CLI (platforms).
  • Image editing beyond background removal: Photoroom's Plus plan adds staging and editing. LassoCut only removes backgrounds.
  • Images that never leave your machines: run a local tool such as Rembg yourself, and handle hosting and updates on your side.

What to know about LassoCut

  • A new service from a small independent company, JAUPIN Design LLC.
  • Credits are sold to businesses only.
  • The free allowance is 50 previews a month (up to 0.25 megapixel); full-size images need credits.
  • Our models are not remove.bg's, so edges will not be pixel-identical.
  • Drop shadows are drawn; the car and 3D shadow styles are not drawn yet.

Start with the API reference, the guides for curl, Python, Node.js and PHP, or the migration guide if you have remove.bg code.

remove.bg is a trademark of Canva Austria GmbH. Other names are trademarks of their owners. References are for identification and comparison only.